I Believe…


‘I Believe … I believe that Drumpf, his Cabinet and administration, and his Republican enablers in Congress are a real and active threat to me, and to the people I love.”
I believe, I won’t forget and I won’t work together … to advance any of the items in his ‘so-called agenda’ … I simply refuse because my morality and ethics won’t allow me to associate with psychopaths, liars and enemies of this country!

Art by Rob Goldstein

If you agree with this post sign your name with a link to your blog in the comments section and reblog the post.

You don’t have to be a citizen of the United States to sign this!

You can also copy the text and use it as a post on your own blog.

Thank you to Karen Kleis for sharing this with me.

I Believe….

I believe that Donald Trump, his Cabinet and administration, and his Republican enablers in Congress are a real and active threat to me, and
to the people I love.

Trump says he won the election and wants us to “work together” to
“Make America Great Again”.

This is my response:

•I will not forget how badly he and so many others treated former President Barack Obama for 8 years.

•I will not “work together” to privatize Medicare, cut Social Security and Medicaid.

•I will not…

View original post 754 more words

‘Angélica’: a film that discusses racism and sexism in Puerto Rico


Wow!! A ‘must watch’ ….

Repeating Islands

9371003_1456414096.6877.jpg

A post by Peter Jordens.

Edwin Velázquez Collazo reports for Ausubo (review of Afro-Puerto Rican culture) on Angélica. Screened during October 2016 at the Caribbean Cinemas International Film Festival in San Juan, the film Angélica by Puerto Rican filmmaker Marisol Gómez Mouakad decries the problem of racism in Puerto Rico.

According to this young filmmaker, the film was shot between Puerto Rico and New York with funding from the Puerto Rico Film Corporation, Ibermedia and private donations. The director tells us that the movie came about after observing the effect that racism has on people and especially on women as they are frequently confronted by racist phrases such as “she is black, but elegant” or “she is a black woman who’s pretty” ― examples of a kind of normalization (of racism). With this movie, she intends to point out that here on the island there is racism too, that…

View original post 402 more words

Two Blows To The Radical Right


Two strong blows … yes! Two different parts of the world … some hope?

Filosofa's Word

As I begin writing this, it has been about three hours since Hawaii’s US district judge Derrick K. Watson issued a nationwide temporary block to the revised travel ban that was due to be implemented at midnight. A few key quotes from Judge Watson explain his decision:

  • Based upon the current record available, however, the Court cannot find the actions taken during the interval between revoked Executive Order No. 13,769 and the new Executive Order to be ‘genuine changes in constitutionally significant conditions’.
  • The illogic of the Government’s contentions is palpable. The notion that one can demonstrate animus toward any group of people only by targeting all of them at once is fundamentally flawed.
  • Because a reasonable, objective observer – enlightened by the specific historical context, contemporaneous public statements, and specific sequence of events leading to its issuance – would conclude that the Executive Order was issued with a purpose…

View original post 1,093 more words

Lightly child, lightly.


Such tender love … like no other!

Live & Learn

what does light
sound like
and can I keep it
as a pet it followed
me home in my
dumb & sour heart.

August Smith, “A Delicate Warzone,” from Malfunctions


Notes:

  • Photo: via Your Eyes Blaze Out. Poem: Boston Poetry Slam
  • Prior “Lightly child, lightly” Posts? Connect here.
  • Post Title & Inspiration: Aldous Huxley: “It’s dark because you are trying too hard. Lightly child, lightly. Learn to do everything lightly. Yes, feel lightly even though you’re feeling deeply. Just lightly let things happen and lightly cope with them.”

View original post