How Puerto Rico Lost Its Home-Grown Food. . .


Puerto Rico may fall but it always raises!!
Agrohack … there’s hope! Independence from imported food … seems to be on the way to become a reality! The young generation rises! 🇵🇷

Repeating Islands

sugar1_custom-2df6445d3756cafbfb65cfb81b65a530b2697bb7-s1600-c85

In “How Puerto Rico Lost Its Home-Grown Food, but Might Find It Again,” NPR’s Dan Charles explores the island’s new wave of interest in farming and finding local sources of food:

Most of the news from Puerto Rico lately has been terrible. The island’s government just declared that it cannot repay its bondholders and will carry out drastic cuts in education and social services. On Wednesday, thousands of students at the University of Puerto Rico voted to continue a protest strike.

Food, though, is delivering a modest ray of hope. That hope will be on display most prominently this weekend, at a conference called Agrohack, which celebrates the island’s growing band of young food entrepreneurs, from chefs to coffee farmers. Last year, Agrohack drew 650 people. This year, organizers expect 1,500.

Across Puerto Rico, in fact, there’s a new wave of interest in food and farming. People are thronging…

View original post 464 more words

This entry was posted in Equality by Dr. Rex. Bookmark the permalink.

About Dr. Rex

I'm originally from Puerto Rico. I was born in Santurce and raised in Rio Piedras. Have lived in Florida since 1999. I have a doctorate degree in Medicine; completed in 1976. My Internal Medicine specialty was completed in 1979. Worked for Puerto Rico's health system until 1985. At this time, I'm happily retired after working for the federal government for almost 28yrs. I want to offer any knowledge that I have to anyone "out there" who is interested. My views are liberal in almost every sense. My knowledge is "eclectic" - a bit of everything. Music and reading are my passion. Blogging has also become a very interesting endeavor. Metaphysical topics attract me. I'm interested in news reporting human issues like injustice, discrimination and abuse - the "wrongly" affected. My intention is to bring this knowledge to an understandable level and to help anyone in need. I'm open to questions and will answer them to the best of my ability. Currently working on an enterprise whose main mission will be to bring peoples of all walks of life together. To be one .... since we ALL are ONE!! The future looks bright and promising!!!

4 thoughts on “How Puerto Rico Lost Its Home-Grown Food. . .

    • I can totally understand you!! It is/was the same … can you recommend a book about this topic? History of the Philippines and colonial rule … I have a feeling that what is happening or has happened in Puerto Rico has happened in every country the US has been involved with.
      I just finished reading ‘Confessions of an Economic Hitman’ by John Perkins … quite the eye opener.
      I also read “War Against All Puerto Ricans” … wow!! So much I didn’t know about the history of my country!
      Hugs …

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I don’t know of any book about colonialism in the Philippines.I’ve only read the History of the Philippines by Teodoro Agoncillo, my mother’s college textbook, which she brought here when we immigrated. Then, there are the occasional articles written by historians. My parents are my sources of info, basically. I’ve read the Miseducation of Filipinos, I’ve forgotten by whom. I guess you need to Google it, ^__^”

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

