What Is The 4th Of July To A Puerto Rican?


Great question!! 🇵🇷 What is the 4th of July to a true, non-assimilated Puerto Rican? Or better yet … to an assimilated one who has seen the light, after self-education? ✊🏽

#nothingtobegainedhere

Six Time International Award Winning Film MACHETERO On Vimeo On Demand Six Time International Award Winning Film MACHETERO On Vimeo On Demand

Originally published on 7/4/10 and republished on 7/4/11, 7/4/12, 7/4/13… and in keeping with what has become a tradition… Republished today…

“Your high independence only reveals the immeasurable distance between us. The blessings in which you, this day, rejoice, are not enjoyed in common. The rich inheritance of justice, liberty, prosperity and independence, bequeathed by your fathers, is shared by you, not by me. The sunlight that brought light and healing to you, has brought stripes and death to me. This Fourth July is yours, not mine. You may rejoice, I must mourn. “

– Fredrick Douglass

Summer 1898, during the Spanish American War a rag-tag volunteer force of machete wielding sugar cane working Puerto Ricans known as Macheteros fought alongside the Spanish to repel the US forces that invaded Puerto Rico on July 25th. In the center of…

View original post 1,828 more words

This entry was posted in Equality by Dr. Rex. Bookmark the permalink.

About Dr. Rex

I'm originally from Puerto Rico. I was born in Santurce and raised in Rio Piedras. Have lived in Florida since 1999. I have a doctorate degree in Medicine; completed in 1976. My Internal Medicine specialty was completed in 1979. Worked for Puerto Rico's health system until 1985. At this time, I'm happily retired after working for the federal government for almost 28yrs. I want to offer any knowledge that I have to anyone "out there" who is interested. My views are liberal in almost every sense. My knowledge is "eclectic" - a bit of everything. Music and reading are my passion. Blogging has also become a very interesting endeavor. Metaphysical topics attract me. I'm interested in news reporting human issues like injustice, discrimination and abuse - the "wrongly" affected. My intention is to bring this knowledge to an understandable level and to help anyone in need. I'm open to questions and will answer them to the best of my ability. Currently working on an enterprise whose main mission will be to bring peoples of all walks of life together. To be one .... since we ALL are ONE!! The future looks bright and promising!!!

8 thoughts on “What Is The 4th Of July To A Puerto Rican?

  1. I read this excellent post with increasing horror, my friend. Though a history buff, I had never studied Puerto Rico in much depth and was not aware of much of this history. As you know from my previous post, I was already ashamed to a large extent of my country, its government and its peoples. Now my head drops even lower in shame for what we have done to Puerto Ricans throughout history. It is interesting, that I have had two commenters on my blog this weekend who pointed out to me the fact that the U.S. has always been imperialistic and often cruel. And then I read this, and I wonder if I even know the country … was I living in some dream world with my blinders on? I cannot apologize, for the atrocities are not mine for which to apologize, but yet … I do apologize because I have been wearing blinders in this respect. 😥 And because it was my country … how did I not know these things? I must think a bit more on this.

    Since you asked me to read this post and asked for my thoughts, I commented here on your post rather than on the original authors. Please make sure that she also sees this comment.

    Many hugs, my friend … ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • TY!! My dear one … I’ve had blinders all my life. I think I told you that I grew up under American influence. PR became a commonwealth in 1952 .. I was 2 years old then! I was all for anything and everything American. I always wanted to come live in the US.
      As a matter of fact, I was accepted at Georgetown and George Washington Medical Schools to study medicine but life got in the way. I managed to finally move to FL in 1999.
      You won’t believe that up until then, I still held the USA as the ‘greatest country’ and didn’t know much about the history of my country, PR, until approx. 2 years ago … thry never taught that part of history when I was in school. I read a book: “War Against All Puerto Ricans” by Nelson A. Denis … the author was touring and came to Orlando. I met him after I read the book. It’s so well written, totally documented and includes all the footnotes and references you can imagine! Boy … have my eyes been opened!!
      At 65 years of age, I learned about my country’s & the US’s history … my feelings changed then way before Drumpf …

      If you are interested, the author has a blog. They used to post every day. They have slowed down a bit … here’s the link ….

      https://waragainstallpuertoricans.com/?wref=bif

      The writer is a lawyer, I think based in New York. He was also a councilman where he lived. If you are interested, I’d suggest, browse through his blog … there are plenty of ‘tabs’ …. and the book is amazing.
      Reading this book piqued my interest in Hawaii, the Panama Canal and other USA interactions on Latin countries.
      I’ve read “Confessions of an Economic Hit Man”. This “is a partly autobiographical book written by John Perkins published in 2004. It provides Perkins’ account of his career with engineering consulting firm Chas. T. Main in Boston. ”
      Another eye opener.
      Naomi Kline penned “The Shock Doctrine’ about 10 years ago. Amazing … I think she has a new book out.
      “No Is Not Enough: Resisting Trumps Shock Politics and Winning the World We Need, Reviews …. Book by Naomi Klein”
      This will be my next buy ….
      Anyway, Iv’e ranted too much …. my eyes are open now and they open more and more each day and it doesn’t seem to be to a good reality!
      Hugs … one more time!! ❤ ….

      Like

    • … “the U.S. has always been imperialistic and often cruel. ” … this is right on with what I have been learning!!
      I will copy and paste your comment in the original post, if don’t mind.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

