Ruth Bader Ginsburg shares her #MeToo moment, praises movement …. ‘⚖️ It’s about time’ ⚖️ …. “!!


 

img_6315

~~January 23, 2018~~ 

RUTH BADER GINSBURG

~A NATIONAL TREASURE~

by ELIZABETH CHUCK

Ruth Bader Ginsburg has never shied away from speaking out about gender inequality – even back when she was a college student and an instructor acted inappropriately with her, she revealed on Sunday, January 21.

The 84-year-old Supreme Court justice was at a panel in Park City, Utah, attending the Sundance Film Festival for the premiere of “RBG,” a documentary about her life, when she was asked about the #MeToo movement.

“It’s about time. For so long women were silent, thinking there was nothing you could do about it, but now the law is on the side of women, or men, who encounter harassment, and that’s a good thing,”

Ginsburg told NPR’s Nina Totenberg.

The justice also told stories of the blatant sexism she encountered as a young professional, including as a law professor at Rutgers Law School, when she was forced to take a salary cut. When she asked how much of a cut one of her male peers would be taking, the dean told her:

“Ruth, he has a wife and two children to support. You have a husband with a good paying job in New York.”

Together with other women working at Rutgers, she filed an Equal Pay Act complaint, and the university eventually settled.

~SOURCE~

http://www.nbcnews.com

GoldSwirl

GoldSwirlRB3RB2GoldSwirl

Ruth Bader Ginsburg approves of Kate McKinnon’s ‘Saturday Night Live’ impersonation

The real Ruth Bader Ginsburg stood up – and she likes her doppelgänger.

The Supreme Court justice spoke at the Sundance Film Festival and gave a ringing endorsement of Kate McKinnon’s “Saturday Night Live” impersonation.

“I liked the actress who portrayed me,” Ginsburg, 84, said.

“And I would like to say ‘Gins-Burn!’ sometimes to my colleagues.”

GoldSwirlRB4GoldSwirl

~SOURCE~

http://www.nydailynews.com

GoldSwirlRBTwoGoldSwirlimg_0413-4img_2110-7

GoldSwirl

GoldSwirlRB1img_5851RB5ItIsTru2

This entry was posted in Equality by Dr. Rex. Bookmark the permalink.

About Dr. Rex

I'm originally from Puerto Rico. I was born in Santurce and raised in Rio Piedras. Have lived in Florida since 1999. I have a doctorate degree in Medicine; completed in 1976. My Internal Medicine specialty was completed in 1979. Worked for Puerto Rico's health system until 1985. At this time, I'm happily retired after working for the federal government for almost 28yrs. I want to offer any knowledge that I have to anyone "out there" who is interested. My views are liberal in almost every sense. My knowledge is "eclectic" - a bit of everything. Music and reading are my passion. Blogging has also become a very interesting endeavor. Metaphysical topics attract me. I'm interested in news reporting human issues like injustice, discrimination and abuse - the "wrongly" affected. My intention is to bring this knowledge to an understandable level and to help anyone in need. I'm open to questions and will answer them to the best of my ability. Currently working on an enterprise whose main mission will be to bring peoples of all walks of life together. To be one .... since we ALL are ONE!! The future looks bright and promising!!!

2 thoughts on “Ruth Bader Ginsburg shares her #MeToo moment, praises movement …. ‘⚖️ It’s about time’ ⚖️ …. “!!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.