The Power of Words …..


Image

Words have incredible power in our lives.

For one, they provide us with a vehicle for expressing and sharing our experiences with others. Most of us don’t realize, however, that the words you habitually choose also affect what you experience.

Transformational Vocabulary is about how you can take control of your habitual vocabulary to change the quality of your life. Simply by changing your habitual vocabulary—the words you consistently use to describe the emotions of your life—you can instantly change how you think, feel and how you live.

What’s interesting is how two people can experience the exact same sensations differently in their bodies by virtue of the labels they put on the experience. For example, one person may feel “frustrated” while the other just feels “a little confused.” It amounts to a huge difference in the way we feel, and when we change the way we feel, we change the way we behave.

Image

~~This is the essence of Transformational Vocabulary~~

…. the words that we attach to our experience become our experience, regardless of whether it’s objectively accurate or not.

Therefore, if we want to change our lives and our destiny, we need to consciously choose the words we use to describe our emotional states. What would happen if, the next time you were in a situation that used to make you feel angry, instead you felt annoyed? Or if you used a word like “peeved” instead of “enraged” to describe your experience? Maybe instead of feeling “worried,” what if you used the words, “I’m a little concerned,” or “I need some clarification”?

Conversely, if someone asks you how you’re doing, think of the difference between responses like “Oh, I’m okay, I guess” and “I’m feeling on top of the world!” The labels we put on our experience become our experience.

Choose your words wisely.

Image

Source: http://training.tonyrobbins.com/the-power-of-words-transform-your-vocabulary-transform-your-life/

Image

“Sticks and stones can break my bones, but words will never hurt me.”

I remember saying those words when young to try and convince myself of its truth in the face of painful words thrown my way. Unfortunately, it is far from true. Verbal insults, verbal abuse, and the power of words to affect your emotions and actions are well demonstrated in science. For example, scientists have found that just hearing sentences about elderly people led research subjects to walk more slowly. In other research, individuals read words of ‘loving kindness’ showed increases in self-compassion, improved mood, and reduced anxiety.

But words are not attended to equally by all.

Studies reveal that we place our attention toward words differently depending on our own biological or personality traits.  

Image

As scientists uncover the power of words to effect behavioral change, the power of rhetoric has become a topic of the current election. Clearly we are all attending more to the power of words.

Source: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/susan-smalley/the-power-of-words_b_81918.html

Border1

The Power of Words

Border1

Uploaded on Feb 23, 2010

Discover the power of transforming your own words in Andrea Gardner’s book ‘Change Your Words, Change Your World’ at http://amzn.to/xfrT2U

Image

We ALL are ONE!! 

This entry was posted in Equality and tagged by Dr. Rex. Bookmark the permalink.

About Dr. Rex

I'm originally from Puerto Rico. I was born in Santurce and raised in Rio Piedras. Have lived in Florida since 1999. I have a doctorate degree in Medicine; completed in 1976. My Internal Medicine specialty was completed in 1979. Worked for Puerto Rico's health system until 1985. At this time, I'm happily retired after working for the federal government for almost 28yrs. I want to offer any knowledge that I have to anyone "out there" who is interested. My views are liberal in almost every sense. My knowledge is "eclectic" - a bit of everything. Music and reading are my passion. Blogging has also become a very interesting endeavor. Metaphysical topics attract me. I'm interested in news reporting human issues like injustice, discrimination and abuse - the "wrongly" affected. My intention is to bring this knowledge to an understandable level and to help anyone in need. I'm open to questions and will answer them to the best of my ability. Currently working on an enterprise whose main mission will be to bring peoples of all walks of life together. To be one .... since we ALL are ONE!! The future looks bright and promising!!!

2 thoughts on “The Power of Words …..

  1. Have you gotten my message? I am trying to figure out how to do a WordPress page here in addition to my regular FB page. I wish you were here, but we are getting snow so that won’t work. But I would love to meet you in reality. WordPress is full off amazing people. Blessings, Barbara

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.