“The Legend of the Cherokee Rose ….. History …. “!!


The Legend of the Cherokee Rose .....

The Trail of Tears and the Forced Relocation of the Cherokee Nation

The caravan was ready to move out. The wagons were lined up. The mood was somber. One who was there reported that “there was a silence and stillness of the voice that betrayed the sadness of the heart.”

CR1

Behind them the makeshift camp where some had spent three months of a Tennessee summer was already ablaze. There was no going back.

A white-haired old man, Chief Going Snake, led the way on his pony, followed by a group of young men on horseback.

Just as the wagons moved off along the narrow roadway, they heard a sound. Although the day was bright, there was a black thundercloud in the west. The thunder died away and the wagons continued their long journey westward toward the setting sun.

CR2

Many who heard the thunder thought it was an omen of more trouble to come.ยน

This is the story of the removal of the Cherokee Nation from its ancestral homeland in parts of North Carolina, Tennessee, Georgia, and Alabama to land set aside for American Indians in what is now the state of Oklahoma.

Some 100,000 American Indians forcibly removed from what is now the eastern United States to what was called Indian Territory included members of the Cherokee, Choctaw, Chickasaw, Creek, and Seminole tribes.

CR3

The Cherokee’s journey by water and land was over a thousand miles long, during which many Cherokees were to die. Tragically, the story in this lesson is also one of conflict within the Cherokee Nation as it struggled to hold on to its land and its culture in the face of overwhelming force.

The Trail of Tears National Historic Trail commemorates the removal of the Cherokee and the paths that 17 Cherokee detachments followed westward.

It also promotes a greater awareness of the Trail’s legacy and the effects of the United States’ policy of American Indian removal not only on the Cherokee, but also on other tribes, primarily the Chickasaw, Choctaw, Creek, and Seminole.

CR4

ยน W. Shorey Coodey to John Howard Payne, n.d.; cited in John Ehle, Trail of Tears: The Rise and Fall of the Cherokee Nation (New York: Doubleday, 1988), 351.

Source: http://www.nps.gov/nr/twhp/wwwlps/lessons/118trail/118trail.htm

And: https://www.facebook.com/TheGreatSpirit.God

***Another sad and unjust part of American history. The forced removal of a people from their own land, their ancestral roots.

Border1

Hasn’t America learned anything? It seems that America has chosen to repeat history over and over again. The eventual future of “conquerors” is to collapse and “die” away as a race …. and then, one wonders what will be remembered about the “conquerors”?

~~Trail of Tears Documentary~~

We ALL are ONE!!

Border1

We ALL fight the fight!!

itisyell

This entry was posted in Equality and tagged by Dr. Rex. Bookmark the permalink.

About Dr. Rex

I'm originally from Puerto Rico. I was born in Santurce and raised in Rio Piedras. Have lived in Florida since 1999. I have a doctorate degree in Medicine; completed in 1976. My Internal Medicine specialty was completed in 1979. Worked for Puerto Rico's health system until 1985. At this time, I'm happily retired after working for the federal government for almost 28yrs. I want to offer any knowledge that I have to anyone "out there" who is interested. My views are liberal in almost every sense. My knowledge is "eclectic" - a bit of everything. Music and reading are my passion. Blogging has also become a very interesting endeavor. Metaphysical topics attract me. I'm interested in news reporting human issues like injustice, discrimination and abuse - the "wrongly" affected. My intention is to bring this knowledge to an understandable level and to help anyone in need. I'm open to questions and will answer them to the best of my ability. Currently working on an enterprise whose main mission will be to bring peoples of all walks of life together. To be one .... since we ALL are ONE!! The future looks bright and promising!!!

7 thoughts on ““The Legend of the Cherokee Rose ….. History …. “!!

  1. My family great grandparents Paton Roland Saenz…True Cherokee Indian, now deceased, ran to: St.Loius Missouri
    To escape from being put on reservation,Studied railroad engineering there they would have freedom, changed there name not to be discovered.He was an engineer for the railroad, He was then stationed out to Texas where he met my great grandmother she was a Irish woman. My mother’s parents, My mother still lives she is 89 yrs old. She never received any kind of benefits. I am 56 years old and because of this,No reservation number…… I lost out on my Cherokee Indian benefits.
    How sad…. I am Cherokee and their is nothing I can do.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I understand exactly what you mean! I’m kind of in the same situation. I’ve been told my whole 56 year long life that I am part Cherokee Indian but have no proof or any kind of records to validate these claims. It would be SO AWESOME if I could find some kind of information about my Cherokee heritage!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank YOU, Kamara!! You have just made my day … ๐Ÿ™๐Ÿฝ … plenty times I wonder if what I post makes even a bit of difference. Sending many blessings back to you!! From the heart … ๐Ÿ’•

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.