To start the day ….


Image

~~January 16, 2015~~

BorderSilver

“Wakan Tanka, Great Mystery, teach me how to trust my heart, my mind, my intuition, my inner knowing, the senses of my body, the blessings of my spirit. Teach me to trust these things so that I may enter my sacred space and love beyond my fear, and thus walk in balance with the passing of each glorious sun.”

~American Indian Lakota Prayer~~

Image

Related sources:

https://www.facebook.com/inspirationforthepeople

https://www.goodreads.com/quotes/160438-wakan-tanka-great-mystery-teach-me-how-to-trust-my

http://www.ya-native.com/nativeamerica/LakotaPrayers.html

Image

Mitakuye Oyasin (All Are Related) is phrase in the Lakota language. It reflects the world view of Interconnectedness held by the Lakota people.

The phrase itself, and the underlying belief of interconnectedness with all creation, is a part of many Yankton Sioux prayers, and is found in use among Lakota, Dakota and Nakota people.

BorderSilver

The phrase translates as “all my relatives,” “we are all related,” or “all my relations.” It is a prayer of oneness and harmony with all forms of life: other people, animals, birds, insects, trees and plants, and even rocks, rivers, mountains and valleys.

In 1940, American scholar, Joseph Epes Brown wrote a study of Mitakuye Oyasin and its relevance in the Sioux ideology of “underlying connection” and “oneness,” and how the phrase has been misappropriated and misused as a slogan and salutation by those from outside the Lakota, Dakota and Nakota cultures.

Image

Mitakuye Oyasin – Lakota Sioux Prayer

~~Aho Mitakuye Oyasin~~

All my relations. I honor you in this circle of life with me today. I am grateful for this opportunity to acknowledge you in this prayer….

To the Creator, for the ultimate gift of life, I thank you.

To the mineral nation that has built and maintained my bones and all foundations of life experience, I thank you.

To the plant nation that sustains my organs and body and gives me healing herbs for sickness, I thank you.

To the animal nation that feeds me from your own flesh and offers your loyal companionship in this walk of life, I thank you.

To the human nation that shares my path as a soul upon the sacred wheel of Earthly life, I thank you.

To the Spirit nation that guides me invisibly through the ups and downs of life and for carrying the torch of light through the Ages, I thank you.

To the Four Winds of Change and Growth, I thank you.

You are all my relations, my relatives, without whom I would not live. We are in the circle of life together, co-existing, co-dependent, co-creating our destiny. One, not more important than the other. One nation evolving from the other and yet each dependent upon the one above and the one below. All of us a part of the Great Mystery.

Thank you for this Life.

Source: https://www.facebook.com/notes/native-american/mitakuye-oyasin-lakota-sioux-prayer

BorderSilver

Lakota Song

Uploaded on Sep 17, 2007

A lovely native song and pictures for you to enjoy.
Love and peace

We ALL are ONE!!

BorderSilver

First Time verbalizing a Lakota Sioux Prayer “Mitakuye Oyasin” (All My Relations)

BorderSilver

We ALL are CONNECTED!!! 

Connected

This entry was posted in Equality and tagged by Dr. Rex. Bookmark the permalink.

About Dr. Rex

I'm originally from Puerto Rico. I was born in Santurce and raised in Rio Piedras. Have lived in Florida since 1999. I have a doctorate degree in Medicine; completed in 1976. My Internal Medicine specialty was completed in 1979. Worked for Puerto Rico's health system until 1985. At this time, I'm happily retired after working for the federal government for almost 28yrs. I want to offer any knowledge that I have to anyone "out there" who is interested. My views are liberal in almost every sense. My knowledge is "eclectic" - a bit of everything. Music and reading are my passion. Blogging has also become a very interesting endeavor. Metaphysical topics attract me. I'm interested in news reporting human issues like injustice, discrimination and abuse - the "wrongly" affected. My intention is to bring this knowledge to an understandable level and to help anyone in need. I'm open to questions and will answer them to the best of my ability. Currently working on an enterprise whose main mission will be to bring peoples of all walks of life together. To be one .... since we ALL are ONE!! The future looks bright and promising!!!

1 thought on “To start the day ….

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.